Just a nightly thought

It is a windy night and the stars are at work.
I sit by the window having coffee, my third.
I tried to sleep a while ago.
I failed at it, I couldn’t do so.

I decide to stay awake all night.
Do nothing, just sit up tight.
Let the cool breeze caress my face, my eyes,
And think of the truth and all the lies.

About the truth I know not,
For I am still clueless as to why was I brought,
into the world of wolves and jackals and human.
I know I do not yet possess the acumen.

As for the lies they exist in plenty.
My thoughts about them aren’t very gently.
I would lose my mind shall I think of them.
No, I don’t want to ruin this nightly gem.

The past is what I left behind.
The best now is to clear my mind.
Prepare myself for the wounds to come.
To turn into the man I want to become.

I am meant to be great someday I believe.
The defeat I face will make me stronger I perceive.
Life is a tree, its roots run deep.
I got to live my dream, I got to sleep.

5 thoughts on “Just a nightly thought

Add yours

    1. Not exactly bhai. Exams are on and I have to study for long hours at night. Some days the books just get to my nerves. Hence the poetic/philosophical outburst 🙂 😀

  1. Insomnia and thoughts are best friends; the kinds who will force you rack your brains on things you cannot control. Musings at such unearthly hours give us memories that remain engraved on our psyche for a long, long time. You don’t hear some complaining because these tales are the reason they are alive. If you aren’t one amongst them, then I’d suggest give it a try. Sleep at odd hours and you will know what I am talking about.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑